Prophetic Teas?

Oh where to start? Let’s see….if you followed my other blog, you know that back in the Fall, I found out I had a hip stress fracture-the day before my full marathon. 18 weeks of training down the tube. It was heartwrenching but I sucked it up and went out to support my friends and sister anyway-on crutches:(

I was out of commission for ten weeks and tried to take it easy (although I did go to Haiti in December) I learned a lot of valuable lessons during this time.

I got back into training in January determined to cross train and do all I could to prevent any other injuries. I didnt want to take running for granted or the ability to workout.

I joined bootcamp and began my training regimen for the half marathon in May. I ran four times and week and did bootcamp twice a week. Sometimes, I added in body toning as well.

I was pretty good for the most part but once I got back into the swing of things, I cut bootcamp out. I took six weeks off but then kicked myself in the butt again right before the half. I knew I needed to get back in to cross training.

A few days before the half, I started having IT band pain. I ran the half at a 10:14 pace and gave it all I had. Even though that was a good pace, I was disappointed b/c before my hip stress fracture, I was faster. (enter bad attitude)

The day after the half, I couldnt walk. IT band issues plagued me for the last month. I tried to run a few times and when I did, the pain was bad. I tried to transition into Vibrams and cut this injury stuff out for good. I’m going between barefoot running and getting orthotics…not sure which way to swing.

I recently took two full weeks off hoping that I could go out and run on Saturday and be fine. I did run Saturday and had minimal pain. Afterwards, it flared up pretty bad. I should’ve known better when my Honest Tea I drank before heading out, warned me. Pictured above it stated “the only thing worse than learning from experience, is NOT learning from experience.”

I could hear the dun dun dunnnnn loudly in my mind. But, shook it off when my rational mind told me that teas can’t tell the future!

I took Sunday off and went to a spinning class last night. Things felt good and I only felt minimal pain a few times.

I was happy to get back into bootcamp this morning. But, when I took off for my warm up lap, I knew right away something was wrong…major pain in my third quad. It seems that I have yet a new injury.

I don’t know what to think. I am not sure what my injury is. I know I should take time off and I will, but it is so incredibly frustrating. I plan to still do cycling and Yoga as those activities don’t hurt. I don’t want to get another MRI as I am still paying for my last one. Ugh, I just want to know what is going on!

So, if you didnt’ nod off by this point, what would your advice be? Do you have any experience with quad pain, strains or tears?  And most importantly, do your teas tell the future?:)

  1. 🙂 I should have read the blog first before sending my message. You already know what you need to do 🙂 I just wish I could take you on a 6 week cruise or something and make you rest…but I know you, you would sneak out in the wee hours of the morning and run, skip or crawl laps around the deck, ha ha ha 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

