The Daily Sweat: Slow and steady wins the race

Slow and steady wins the race. Or thats what turtles tell themselves so they don’t go into a manic depression when all of the rabbits are passing them by. Just hopping along, injury free and leaving all the other little creatures to eat their dust.

This weekend marked the first time I laced the shoes up and headed back out to pound the pavement in over a month since my injury. As you know, I was visiting my sister and even though I was high on Percoset, I had the remarkable idea to try out a run.

I must say getting ready was definitely humbling. Have you ever seen someone without use of their right arm try to pull a too tight sports bra over their head? Be jealous. That along with my protruding belly in my singlet and way too small running shorts attempted to really make me want to go sulk in the corner. Or go on the cabbage soup diet for the next five years.

Alas, I sucked it up and in and headed out. Besides, knowing we would get to  have iced coffee at Caribou sealed the deal. No exercise, emotionally eating and lying around all day = pretty rockin body. Clearly I need the calories.

The first day we ran, I did half a mile, then walked five minutes, then finished out another half a mile. We also walked about 2 miles. It was a little tough. My ipod was mad at me for not using it the last month and wasn’t working. Stupid Ipod. I’ve tried to teach all of my little gadgets that mind games don’t work with me but they just argue back. Something about charging them before usage. Seriously, I thought technology was supposed to make our lives easier?

Today, we decided to head out for 1 mile. I ran the full mile and my breathing sounded like that of a pack a day smoker. We walked about half a mile and then I ran another half a mile. I don’t know about you, but walking takes forever. I really admire my friends that walk half and full marathons.  That takes real dedication and patience. It also takes so much longer to get back to Caribou for that iced coffee.

My sister made me promise that I will only increase my mileage by 10% each week. If you have been reading very long, you know that this goes against my very nature. It will be VERY difficult for me to adhere to her rules. But, I really don’t wont to break my neck next and I’m pretty sure that if I don’t learn my lesson this time, it’s going to happen. Or she will beat me up.

My marathon training is in full swing and my sister has forced me to only train for the half but then, if I find it in me, I can run the full. Don’t you just love dictators-I mean older sisters?

The truth is, I know that she is right. And what stinks is that not only do I have to take it slow but I also can’t go to Bootcamp, Bodypump, Spinning or Vinyasa hot yoga. These were the things I really loved to do along with running. But, unfortunately they all require use of……you guessed it, my right arm. And since that’s impossible, I am not sure what activities I will be doing. I do know that I need to really focus on my core and hip strength so maybe Pilates will be in my future.  I will use also use  my Val slides and work on my quads, glutes, etc. Maybe some stationary bike riding. Lots of stretching, lots of icing and lots of lessons learned.

In the end, although I am gritting my teeth, I am really thankful for this entire experience. Besides the bonus of percoset 24/7, I have been forced to chill out, depend on other people and really listen to what life is trying to teach me. And I dont’ know about you but ephiphany’s like what is the meaning of life and where are my cheetos are really easy to come by when you are putting a dent in your favorite chair sipping diet coke all day.

I left my sister’s house with a list of goals that I am going to work on over the next few months. And I am taking away from this experience, that exercise, though very good for me, can NOT be my main driver. I can’t let that be my number one priority or my main source of happiness. Running is fun and don’t get me wrong I am addicted to those endorphins but there is so much more that I need to allow myself to listen to, experience and hope for. We are complex beings with many needs. No matter how many miles I run or crunches I do, my spirit, mind or emotional state won’t be too happy with me for ignoring them. Thus, allpointswhole.

So, when was a time that you were injured or had to put something you really loved on the backburner? What lessons did you learn and how did you handle the situation?

  1. That’s awesome that you are getting back and ran! I hate injuries and find that it’s so hard to be patient with recovery. I usually do a bit more cross-training to get my cardio back a bit, like spin or the elliptical. have fun with your sister 🙂

  2. I’m so glad you can get back into running! At least it’s something, right?

    This is going to sound sort of silly, but yesterday I was having carpal tunnel pain in my right wrist, and I kept thinking, “How am I going to do push-ups at boot camp tomorrow?” It made me think of you and how frustrated you must feel.

    • Definitely!! It is so frustrating but just trying to find the good in it all. I am more than glad that I can run. I hope some new injury doesnt surface. Somehow, Ive got to find a balance and apparently I am really bad at that

  3. oh girl, I alughed out loud all through this post!!!! I just love you and your honesty, we have all felt this way! I am so very proud of you and admire you in so many ways. You are a beautiful gal, inside and out! So glad you are on the road back, not just with running!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

