“I get by with a little help from my friends”

Happy Hump day everyone!  Hope your mid-week is shaping up like Kate Middleton’s mid-section! Smooth and rock solid.

This morning, after looking at my husband in a drugged daze wondering who this man was kissing me goodbye and telling me to have a good day, I sat up, attempted to pat down my dishelved hair and thought about all my friends and how they have rallied around me during this time.

Yesterday my friend Hannah kept the tot for me while I drove around to appointments, slid in and out of CT scanning machines and ate stale onion rings at the hospital cafeteria. If that wasnt enough, while I was having an epic meltdown, I received a text that she left a CD “happy” mix she made me along with a mocha from Trader Joes on my front doorstep. Such love.

Just minutes later, I received a text from my friend Julia inviting me out to Starbucks. We watched the sun set, sipped iced coffee and  she selflessly listened to me vent about all of my recent misfortune.

When I got home , I opened an email from my friend Summer stating that she was bringing us dinner tonight. She pretty much insisted and I love that because its hard for me to accept help. I need to be better at taking that approach when my friends need help. Mental note.

Then this morning, my friend Stacia sent me this encouraging quote. “When you get into a tight place and everything goes against you, till it seems as though you could not hang on a minute longer, never give up then, for that is just the place and time that the tide will turn. ” ~~Harriet Beecher Stowe

As I sit here waiting for the Dr to call back with my CT results, I am a bit anxious. He found some fragmented bone that “he had never seen before and wasnt aware of any genetic anomalies it could be.” Not something you want to hear an Ortho say. But I guess we all already knew I was  part mutant. Tell us something we dont know Mr. Surgeon. We didnt need 8 years of med school to figure that out now did we?

I must admit that I am still in a lot of pain and that makes everything hard. Simple things like sweeping the floor, folding clothes or making my toddler a sandwich are much more difficult and that can be very frustrating. You would think I would like the free pass but when dust bunnies are staring me down, laughing at my inability to sweep them up, it makes me want to scream. Or eat more cheetos and dust the crumbs on the floor. We will just see how those dust bunnies like sharing their space. Not so fun is it, little bunnies?

But my spirit is at much more of an ease, knowing that I have friends around me that love and care for me and my family. Its hard somewhere without family. My sisters are more than available but are hundreds of miles away. So for now, it may be hard for my pride to swallow, “but I get by with a little help from my friends”

Is it easy or hard for you to accept help when you need it? Do you need to work on being more available for your friends during difficult times?

  1. I tend to be a stickler about accepting help, but when I do I’m always happy I did. Sometimes others can help you see what you yourself can’t 🙂

  2. So true…thanks for stopping by

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

